3 Oct

Scots Impress At Loch Ness

Ten Year Pic

In its ten successive year as arguably Scotland's most iconic race, Tomas Abyu of Salford Harriers won his third Baxters Loch Ness Marathon in as many visits. Abyu prevailed in a closely contested battle with Ross Houston of Central AC, with the Ethiopian finishing in a time of 2:20:50, just 15 seconds ahead of the Scottish runner.

Houston's impressive showing, however, was enough to secure this year's title of Men's Scottish Marathon Champion, with his time of 2:21:05 representing a personal best. Chris Wilson, of Ron Hill Cambuslang Harriers, was third in 2:25:15.

In the women's race, Lisa Finlay of Dumfries Running club completed the course in style with a personal best of 2:59:14. Crossing the finish line second and achieving another PB was Carole Setchell of Shettleston Harriers, who managed to clip almost 15 minutes off her previous record. Gail Murdoch, of Carnegie Harriers, finished in third position (3:09:37).

After the race, Tomas Abyu felt his contest with Houston had the perfect backdrop: "The Baxters Loch Ness Marathon is a good fast course, and it's such a beautiful area. I had a very good run in the second half of the course today. Ross Houston was pushing the pace but I felt very comfortable."


In contrast to the Indian summer engulfing England at the moment, the weather in Loch Ness wasn't quite as pleasant, with intermittent rain throughout the day. Abyu felt these conditions were conducive for the runners, adding: "This is my third time running at Loch Ness and the weather is always great for the event, and a perfect temperature for running."

Female winner, Lisa Finlay of Dumfries Running Club (pictured), said: "There was a lot of good runners taking part today, making for stiff competition. I ran my own race, sticking to my plan and was delighted to win, and even knocked a few seconds of my PB!" Like Abyu, Lisa complimented the setting and atmosphere of the event: "It's a lovely course and the spectators along the route were really warm and supportive."

Lisa Finlay

Erica Christie, one of only 10 runners completing the course for the 10th time, finished her commemorative run in style with 8th place in the female competition. In what was cause for a slightly different commemoration, marathon runners Scott McKenzie and Sarah Means, both of Glasgow, celebrated their engagement as Scott proposed at the finish line.

Winner of the River Ness 10K was Kyle Greig, of Forres Harriers, with a time of 32:55. Second was Keith Hood of Corstorphine AAC (33:11), and third was Graeme Campbell of Stirling (34:10). First woman home in the 10K was Inverness Harriers' Melissa Whyte, with a time of 35 minutes and 45 seconds. Second was Sarah Styles of Metro Aberdeen Running Club (39:18), and third was Vivienne Bruce of Aberdeen (39:33).

With the high turn-out for the race's commemorative year, event organisers are confident they can surpass the £780,000 raised in 2010. Malcolm Sutherland of Baxters Loch Ness Marathon & Festival of Running, said, "It has been wonderful to welcome runners and spectators both locally and from around the globe to the Highlands to experience one of the most scenic marathons in the world. We look forward to welcoming everyone back to Inverness in the future."



1: Tomas Abyu, Salford Harriers (2:20:50)
2: Ross Houston, Central AC (2:21:05)
3: Chris Wilson, Ron Hill Cambuslang Harriers (2:25:15)
4: Kerry-Liam Wilson, Ron Hill Cambuslang Harriers (2:31:06)
5: Grant Wilkie, Corstorphine AAC (2:42:55)
6: Richard Watkinson, Princes Riseborough (2:43:00)
7: Roger Van Gompel, Dundee Hawkhill Harriers (2:46:12)
8: Stefan Simms, Griffithstown Harriers (2:46:18)
9: Paul Holley, Newmarket Joggers (2:47:41)
10: Jim Clark, London (2:49:16)

Men Over 40: 1: Roger Van Gompel, Dundee Hawkhill Harriers (2:46:12)
Men Over 50: 1: Gary Hetherington, Sedgefield Harriers (2:50:58)
Men Over 60: 1: Nicholas Fickling, USA (3:17:23)

1: Lisa Finlay, Dumfries Running Club (2:59:14)
2: Carole Setchell, Shettleston Harriers (3:02:56)
3: Gail Murdoch, Carnegie Harriers (3:09:37)
4: Claire Thompson, Victoria Park City of Glasgow (3:11:54)
5: Jane Purchase, Doncaster AC (3:12:00)
6: Stephanie Ilsley, Belper Harriers (3:12:44)
7: Joan Henry, Wick (3:14:47)
8: Erica Christie, Bellahouston Harriers (3:18:29)
9: Helen Lawrenson, Wesham Road Runners (3:18:52)
10: Helen Lees, Glasgow (3:20:32)

Women over 40 1: Joan Henry, Wick (3:14:47)
Women Over 50: 1: Stephanie Ilsley, Belper Harriers (3:12:44)
Women Over 60: 1: Ann Rollings, Rugby and Northampton AC (4:04:07)

Scottish Marathon Championships:
Male Team Champions: Ron Hill Cambuslang Harriers
Female Team Champions: Carnegie Harriers
Male Champion: Ross Houston, Central AC
Female Champion: Lisa Finlay, Dumfries Running Club

GORE RUNNING WEAR Runners Club Award 2011 (for fastest running club member male): Tomas Abyu, Salford Harriers
GORE RUNNING WEAR Runners Club Award 2011 (for fastest running club member female): Lisa Finlay, Dumfries Running Club
HSPC Gerald Cooper Memorial Cup (for first person resident in the Highland area): Harley Davidson, Inverness Harriers



1: Kyle Greig, Forres Harriers (32:55)
2: Keith Hood, Corstorphine AAC (33:11)
3: Graeme Campbell, Stirling (34:10)
4: Stephen Mackay, Inverness Harriers (34:12)
5: Callum Martin, London (34:12)
6: Jack Trevelyan, Castletown (34:13)
7: David Patton, Corstorphine AAC (34:15)
8: Niku Millott, Metro Aberdeen Running Club (34:23)
9: Forbes Reid, Metro Aberdeen Running Club (34:28)
10: Zachary Delaney, Fife Athletic Club (34:33)

Men Over 40: 1: Callum Martin, London (34:12)
Men Over 50: 1: Alastair Dunlop, Isle of Lewis (35:08)
Men Over 60: 1: Mike Gage, Beauly (42:29)

1: Melissa Whyte, Inverness Harriers (35:45)
2: Sarah Styles, Metro Aberdeen Running Club (39:18)
3: Vivienne Bruce, Aberdeen (39:33)
4: Suzanne McMahon, Bellahouston Harriers (39:43)
5: Liz Thomson, Aberdeen (40:39)
6: Marie Baxter, Aberdeen (40:42)
7: Jackie Mair, Inverness Harriers (41:17)
8: Maria De La Torre, Inverness (41:21)
9: Roma Davidson, Inverness Harriers (41:23)
10: Fiona Macritchie, Inverness (41:40)

Women over 40: 1: Suzanne McMahon, Bellahouston Harriers (39:43)
Women Over 50: 1: Sarah Houston, Moray Road Runners (43:34)
Women Over 60: 1: Shirley Hay, Inverness (53:14)

Baxters River Ness 5K Fun Run
Male: Luke Shaw, Ross-shire (17:44)
Women: Catriona Allan, Kilmacolm (21:29)

HSBC 10K Corporate Challenge
Fastest Overall Team and Fastest Public Sector Team: Rowantree Randoms, University of Aberdeen, cumulative time 3:01:37
Fastest Accountancy and Finance Sector Team: Johnston Carmichael
Fastest Legal and Property Sector Team: CKD Galbraith
Fastest Energy and Engineering Sector Team: Wood Group
Fastest Jack of All Trades Sector Team: Baxters Team A