6 Sep

Perth, Wind and Fire!

Highland Perthshire Marathon parade

It was dry but breezy at the inaugural Highland Perthshire marathon and half marathon last weekend (1 September) for the 400 runners taking part in the event organised by the Rotary Club of Aberfeldy and District. The race started in Aberfeldy with local 2012 Olympics torchbearer, Kelly James, leading a parade of runners along Poplar Avenue to the start line by the fairway of the town's golf club.

There was an added incentive to take part in the race this year as organisers were giving entrants the chance to win a week's holiday near Alicante in southern Spain. Paul Holley of Newmarket Joggers won the marathon in 02:51:28, with Matteo Berra in second (02:58:33) and Tobias Mews third (2:59:39). Fastest female was Clydesdale Harrier Pamela McCrossan with a time of 03:24:12. Robert Bacon was the midpoint runner in 03:57:26.

The half marathon saw Lothian's Brian Turner take first spot (01:17:20), followed by Andy Laycock (01:19:48) and Tim Darlow (01:20:44). All Ireland champion Angela Speight was the first female to cross the line (01:24:17), with Janette Lee the midpoint runner (01:56:04).

Finishers were congratulated by local MSP, Holyrood finance minister John Swinney, and Pete Wishart MP who also handed out medals.

Rotary president, Bill Bruce, was delighted with the smooth running of the event, saying: "The inaugural Highland Perthshire marathon has been a great success. We had 381 entrants and feedback from participants was overwhelmingly positive. We have also received many complimentary comments on our Facebook site and Twitter."

One such comment was from Morag Anderson who said: "Many, many thanks for organising such a tremendous event. It was, by far, one of the best running events I have participated in. The marshals were well positioned and very encouraging, the post-race support team in the marquee were exceptionally generous and the general atmosphere was so friendly and welcoming. Already looking forward to 2013!"

For a full list of results visit our race listings page.