30 Nov

Mo In Male Dominated Top Ten


5k world champion Mo Farah has been nominated for this year\'s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award. News of Farah\'s inclusion, however, has been overshadowed by the complete absence of women in the competition\'s shortlist.

Farah\'s remarkable 2011 has included gold and silver success at the World Championships in Daegu, victory in the New York City half marathon, all crowned off with the recent accolade of male European Athlete of the Year. A recent update on the runner\'s Twitter account said: "Just heard I\'ve been nominated for BBC Sport Personality. Great News!"

The absence of any sportswomen from the shortlist is all the more surprising considering the success of triathlete champion Chrissie Wellington and swimmer Keri-Anne Payne. Wellington commented onTwitter: "No women in @bbcspoty top ten. Its not about me, its about the need to celebrate achievements of so many female GBR athletes. Disgraceful."

One of the hosts of this year\'s show, Jake Humphrey, was keen to stress that the non-appearance of any sportswomen in the shortlist should not overshadow this year\'s nominees: "We\'ve got some amazing women, it\'s disappointing but it is the way it is. It\'s not a sexist competition. Nothing should take anything away from these guys."

The shortlist (in alphabetical order) is: Mark Cavendish (cycling), Darren Clarke (golf), Alastair Cook (cricket), Luke Donald (golf), Mo Farah (athletics), Dai Greene (athletics), Amir Khan (boxing), Rory McIlroy (golf), Andy Murray (tennis), Andrew Strauss (cricket).