15 Aug

McCloskey and Waugh Storm Home in the Forth Bridges Downpour

A near fifteen minute torrential downpour two minutes after the race started was the only dampener at the Forth Road Bridge 10K hosted by Pitreavie on Sunday August 9.

Over 300 runners participated in the seventh running of the race, starting in North Queensferry the runners headed down towards Ferrytoll and over the Eastern walkway of the Forth Road Bridge. Upon reaching the South side the runners completed a loop around the FETA complex before heading under the bridge, emerging on the upstream side and returning back to the North side, with the race finishing at the Northern end of the iconic bridge.

Men's Race

The men's race itself was a close run affair with three local runners all vying for the win. However it was the host clubs Paul McCloskey, third in 2008, who broke free from Ian Stewart (Carnegie) and Jeff Farquhar (Pitreavie) to take the win in a time of 33:35. Second place went to Carnegie Harrier Ian Stewart in 33:56 who was also first M50, with Paul's club mate Jeff Farquhar finishing third in 33:58 and second MV50.

In the M40+ category, Carnegie Harrier Dennis Howett and club mate Sid James fought out a hard race with Dennis just edging out Sid to claim the prize finishing 11th overall in 37:12 with Sid 13th in 37:25.

The men's team title went to Pitreavie AAC (12points) ahead of Carnegie (15points) with Paul McCloskey, Jeff Farquhar and Neil MacLachlan the three counters.

Women's Race

This year's woman's race was thrown wide open. With most of the local top runners being absent, it was left to Kilbarchan AAC's Hannah Waugh to claim the woman's title finishing in 39:37. Louise Beveridge, Metro Aberdeen RC finished strongly in second place in 40:26 with Fiona MacRitchie (unattached) holding on to finish third and leading F35 in 42:04.

In the F35+ category Carnegie's Kirsty Baird was second clocking 43:48 behind Fiona. Carnegie's Lynne Bennet was third in 44:18. In the F45+ Carnegie's Isobel Burnett took the title finishing in 42:09 ahead of Maureen Hill, unattached in 43:02 and Marguerite Robertson also unattached in 44:59.

Carnegie ladies retained their team title with Isobel Burnett, Kirsty Baird and Lynne Bennet the three counters.

Jog Scotland

Prizes for the first male and female Jog Scotland finishers were included again this year. Lucy Marshall from Edinburgh was first female in 48:16 with Michael Gage from Inverness the first male in 44:25.