5 Jun

Callum returns Lindsays XC trophy to winners Giffnock North

Callum Hawkins presents the Lindsay XC trophy

Giffnock North AC has won back the Lindsays XC Trophy from the 2018 winners, Garscube Harriers, having had it in their possession for the two previous years (2016 and 2017). 

The Lindsays Trophy is given to the club with the most runners taking part in in the three events that make up the Lindsays National XC Championship: the National XC Relays at Cumbernauld, the Short Course at Lanark and the National XC at Falkirk. 
Over the 2018/19 season, 283 runners from Giffnock North finished all three events, the highest of any club, earning them the right to claim back the trophy.
With 248 finishers, previous 2018 Garscube Harriers had to relinquish the trophy and settle for second place, being just 35 runners short of Giffnock North’s 2019 total. 
Edinburgh AC came third with 193, Cambuslang Harriers fourth with 167 and Central AC fifth with 163. Rounding out the 2018–2019 top 10 were Corstorphine AAC, Kilbarchan AAC, Fife AC, Bellahouston Harriers and Aberdeen AAC.
In the end, 13 clubs had more than 100 finishers at all three events. Even more encouraging for the sport, 100 clubs had at least one finisher in the three events. 
Scottish marathon record holder and double Senior XC title winner, Callum Hawkins, presented Croy Thomson of Giffnock North with the trophy.
Joining Hawkins at the presentation was Ian Beattie of scottishathletics. 
He said: "I’m delighted to award Giffnock North AC the Lindsays Trophy after another fantastic season.
"Athletics in Scotland is going from strength to strength, and we’re also seeing the huge impact the sport is having in local communities across Scotland because of the strength and depth of the clubs, helped by their commitment to increasing participation in cross country."
Image: Bobby Gavin for scottishathletics