26 Jul

Record GB Team For London World Champs

Sir Mo Farah

With more than 80 athletes selected, the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for London 2017 is the largest ever for an IAAF World Championships. Events commence on Friday 4 August and runABC takes a look at the timetable and competitors in the endurance events.

Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park will be packed for the opening of the 16th edition of the IAAF World Athletics Championships in the Olympic Stadium. Running fans will no doubt be beside themselves with excitement as Sir Mo Farah attempts to defend his 5,000m and 10,000m gold medals from Beijing 2015 in his final season on the track, before turning his attention fully to the marathon. Sir Mo opens his account on the very first evening.

The men's and women's marathons come early in the programme, with both races on Sunday 6 August. This is the first time an IAAF World Championships has staged both marathons on the same day. The 26.2-mile route starts and finishes at Tower Bridge, with four laps of a 10km course on Victoria Embankment towards Houses of Parliament, back alongside the Thames to St Paul’s Cathedral and Tower of London. The medals will be presented in front of the Tower of London, where a stage and supporter zone will be created to make the most of the world championships atmosphere.

Here are some of the main events and competitors to watch out for:

  • 4 Aug – 21:20 Men's 10,000m (Mo Farah)
  • 5 Aug – 20:10 Women's 10,000m (Beth Potter, Jessica Martin, Charlotte Taylor)
  • 6 Aug – 10:55 Men's Marathon (Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths, Andrew Davies)
  • 6 Aug – 14:00 Women's Marathon (Alyson Dixon, Charlotte Purdue, Tracy Barlow)
  • 12 Aug – 20:20 Men's 5,000m Final (Mo Farah, Andrew Butchart, Marc Scott)
  • 13 Aug –19:35 Women's 5,000m Final (Steph Twell, Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir)

The full timetable is available at the IAAF World Championships website.

Image courtesy British Athletics press